Aug. 4, 2021

Related Links

California Courts Jury Information

Internet Access

Wireless internet is available in the jury assembly room for prospective jurors.

Fraud Alert

Male suspect tells victim that they have a Napa County warrant for missing jury duty and to send him $2,000. Click for more details.

Watch: Answering the Call for Jury Service

The Napa Superior Court does not endorse or advocate for any of the organizations connected with the production of this video. The use of this video is solely for the limited purposes of educating the public about jury service.

Jury service

Jury Commissioner

825 Brown Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone: (707) 299-1150
Toll-free: (800) 247-4340
FAX: (707) 259-8318

Juror Status and Reporting

If you have been summoned for jury service, use your juror badge number located on your summons, along with your date of birth, to access your juror record using one of the methods below for reporting instructions or to request service postponement, disqualification, or excusal:
2.  TEXT your badge number to 707-204-0289 to use our interactive text service
3.  Call the Jury Services Office 707-299-1150 for assistance
Reporting instructions are available after 4:00PM one business day prior to the summons date.

If you are required to report for jury service please report to one of the following entrances (ADA Accessible):

  • 810 Coombs Street
  • 825 Brown Street

    Here's an overview of the health and safety precautions the Napa Superior Court has taken to provide a safe experience:

     If you are sick, or have been exposed to someone that has tested positive for COVID-19 within the past 14 days, do not come to court.
    Hand sanitizer stations will be available throughout the courthouse for public use.
    You must wear a mask or face covering to enter the court facility and when you cannot maintain six-feet physical distancing form other court users or staff.
    Social distancing is required. The Court has implemented and will enforce social distancing. Please observe all signage.
    If you are unable to appear for your scheduled service, contact the Jury Commissioner’s office at 707-299-1150 or at to request a new appearance date.

    Employer Information

    Employers can obtain general information about employees and jury service by visiting California Courts Jury Service Employer Information.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Who can serve as a juror?

    All persons are eligible and qualified to be jurors, with the following exceptions:
  • Less than 18 years of age
  • Not a citizen of the United States
  • Does not possess sufficient knowledge of the English language
  • Not a resident of Napa County
  • Convicted of malfeasance in office or a felony, and whose civil rights have not been restored
  • Has been convicted of a felony and is currently on parole, post-release community supervision, felony probation, or mandated supervision for the conviction of a felony
  • Is currently incarcerated in prison or jail
  • Is currently required to register as a sex offender under Penal Code section 290 based upon a felony conviction
  • Currently serving as grand or trial jurors in any court of this state
  • Persons who are the subject of conservatorship
  • Active peace officers (this does not apply to Correctional Officers)
  • Under 70 with a medical issue. A doctor must provide a note as to the duration of the issue or problem.
  • Persons over 70 with a medical issue
  • I've received a summons - when do I have to report?

    If you have received a jury summons it will indicate the day and time that you are required to appear. However, it is best to check the Self Service Jury System, call 707-299-1150, or text 707-204-0280 to verify if your appearance is required. You may be eligible for a postponement if necessary. The best time to verify if you are required to serve is to call after 4:00 p.m. on the Friday before your appearance date as the information will not change after that time.

    How do I request a postponement to a different date?

    If you are not able to appear on your scheduled date, you may request a postponement of your service online using our Self Service Jury System, call 707-299-1150, or text to 707-204-0280. Requests for postponement must be made 3 business days in advance of your scheduled service date.

    I'm required to serve - what happens next?

    Once you are required to appear for jury service, you should plan for the possibility of needing to be available for the entire week. If selected as a juror, you will serve to the end of the jury trial. Automated appearance information is available after 4:00 p.m. on the Friday before your appearance date using the Self Service Jury System, call 707-299-1150, or text to 707-204-0280. Specific instructions will be provided about your jury service including when to call back for further instructions.

    Will I be paid for Jury service?

    Jurors do not receive any compensation, including mileage, for the first day of service. However for eligible recipients, after the first day fees will be paid at the rate of $15.00 per day and .34 cents per mile one way from your residence to the courthouse.

    Who can be Excused or Disqualified from Jury service?

    A juror MAY be excused if any of the following applies:
  • Under 70 and have a disability that would prevent them from serving. A doctor’s note must be provided indicating the permanent nature of the disability or the specific time period for which the medical excuse applies.
  • Providing Care to a Family Member.
  • An active police officer
  • Serving in the military
  • Over 70 with medical issues that prevent service (no doctor excuse needed)

  • Inconvenience to a prospective juror or an employer is not a legal reason to be excused from jury service, however you may request a postponement for this reason. If you meet the excusal or disqualification criteria, requests must be made within 5 days from receipt of your summons by completing and returning the Juror Affidavit Questionnaire attached to the summons.

    What if I fail to appear?
    All citizens are required by law to periodically serve as jurors unless they have a legal excuse, and the court is required to enforce this obligation. You will need to choose an alternate date by accessing our Self Service Jury System or speaking to jury personnel by calling (707) 299-1150.
    Final Summons
    If you have received a final summons, you have failed to appear for jury service on two separate occasions. The Court shall employ all necessary and appropriate means to ensure that all eligible citizens fulfill this important civic duty. Please contact jury personnel at (707) 299-1150 to arrange for a date to complete your jury service.

    Order to Show Cause

    If you have had a letter served to you by the Sheriff's office, this is the document that begins contempt proceedings. Once served with the Order to Show Cause, failure to appear as required could result in a warrant being issued for your arrest.

    You may avoid a visit from the sheriff and the $2000 fine by contacting jury personnel at (707) 299-1150 to arrange for a date to complete your jury service.

    Where do I park for Jury service?

    On your summons is a Parking Voucher that allows all day parking for the week of service in 2 or 3 hour spaces in open lots or on any city street. Place your parking voucher on the dash of your car. Parking citations resulting from improper parking are the responsibility of the juror.

    Parking is available in three downtown garages:

  • Pearl St. Garage - 1st and 2nd Floor only
  • Clay St. Garage - Any level
  • Fifth St. Garage - Second and fourth levels only
  • Note: No juror parking is allowed in the Second Street garage.

    The parking voucher does not include the use of:

  • Reserved or "Permit Parking Only" spaces
  • 15 or 24 minute zones
  • Handicapped zones
  • The library parking lot
  • The jail parking lot next to the Hall of Justice
  • © 2021 Napa County Superior Court